Best AI Receptionist for Small Business in 2026: 9 Options and Their Real Cost per Call
Best AI receptionist for small business in 2026: 9 options priced on vendor pages, real cost per call, handover, HIPAA, UK and UAE notes, and a test script.
Short answer: The best AI receptionist for small business in 2026 is the one whose billing unit matches your calls. On published prices, Goodcall, Rosie, Upfirst and Quo cost about $130 to $160 a month at 300 calls. Smith.ai adds a human backup at a higher price per call. Test any of them with ten real calls before you pay.
In this guide
- What it does and does not do
- How we judged each product
- The nine options, by billing unit
- Side by side comparison table
- The real cost per call
- Handover to a human
- Languages, HIPAA and GDPR
- How to test before you pay
- Which one fits your business
- US, UK and UAE notes
- When it is the wrong buy
- Vrisic: when custom makes sense
- How Vrisic can help
- Sources
Picking the best AI receptionist for small business use is mostly a maths problem. Every product here answers the phone and sends you a summary. What separates them is how they bill, whether they book into your calendar, what happens when a caller asks for a person, and whether the voice copes with your callers. We checked every price on the vendor’s own pricing page in October 2026 and left out anything we could not confirm.
We build custom voice AI agents and AI receptionists, which is why we say plainly when a subscription is the better buy. For most owners with one location and under about 1,000 calls a month, it is.
Disclosure: Vrisic publishes this guide. Vrisic is not ranked among the products below and appears only in its own clearly labelled section near the end.
What does an AI receptionist for small business actually do?
An AI receptionist is software that answers your business number with a natural voice, holds a spoken conversation and finishes simple front desk jobs without a person. It chains speech recognition, a large language model and a synthetic voice, and the good ones do all three in about a second.
For a small business the useful jobs are narrow: answering the same ten questions about hours, prices and service areas; booking or moving appointments in Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Square or Clio; taking a structured message; screening spam; transferring the calls that matter; and texting a confirmation afterwards.
What it should not do: give legal, medical or financial advice, quote complex jobs, take card numbers by voice, or calm an angry customer alone. It is a fast front desk, not a manager. Our explainer on what an AI agent is covers the wider idea.
How we judged the best AI receptionist for small business
We judged each product on seven buying criteria rather than a score, because the right answer changes with your call pattern. There are no invented ratings and no paid placements, and the order below is not a ranking.
- Billing unit: per call, minute, unique caller, location or human minute.
- Booking: direct into your calendar, or only a link by text.
- Handover: cold transfer, warm transfer with a briefing, backup numbers, or messages only.
- Languages: English and Spanish are common; UK accents and Gulf Arabic need testing.
- Compliance: a HIPAA business associate agreement (BAA), and any word on UK or EU data.
- Integrations: native calendar and CRM links, or Zapier only.
- Trial: long enough to test properly, with monthly cancellation.
Developer platforms such as Vapi and Retell AI are covered in our review of the best AI voice agent platforms. We left out Synthflow (contracts from $30,000 a year) and Nextiva’s XBert (no published AI receptionist price when we checked).
The best AI receptionists for small business in 2026, grouped by billing unit
Grouped by how they charge, in US dollars on monthly billing, as of October 2026.
Billed per call: Smith.ai, Upfirst and Quo
Per call billing suits fewer, longer calls.
Smith.ai AI Receptionist. Its AI receptionist can pass calls to Smith.ai’s North America based human receptionists. The Free plan includes 25 calls a month, then $3.00 per call. Pro is $150 a month for 75 calls, with tiers of 150 and 300 calls at discounts of 10% and 17%, and overage of $2.50 to $2.17 per call. Enterprise starts at $500 a month for 300 calls. It integrates natively with Clio and Zapier. Best for law firms that want a person behind the AI; ask how live receptionist time is billed, as the pricing page does not say.
Upfirst. Starter is $24.95 a month for 30 calls, Premium $59.95 for 90, Pro $159.95 for 300 and Scale $299 for 600, with overage from $1.50 down to $0.70 a call and 20% off annual plans. It books into Google, Outlook, Clio, Acuity, Calendly and Square, lists 35+ languages, and has a 14 day trial with no card. A HIPAA BAA is offered on the Custom plan only, and extra agents cost $9.95 a month. Best for a cheap, capable start.
Quo with Sona. Quo, formerly OpenPhone, is a business phone system with an AI agent, Sona. Seats are $19, $33 or $47 per user a month ($15, $23 or $35 billed annually). Each seat includes 1,000 automation credits, and one call uses 100 credits, so the free allowance is 10 calls. Paid credit tiers run from $25 for 40 calls to $199 for 600 calls, with overage from $1.00 down to $0.45 a call. Best for small teams moving off personal mobiles; expect to buy a credit tier.
Billed per minute: Rosie, Dialzara and Frontdesk
Per minute billing suits lots of short calls.
Rosie. Professional is $49 a month for 250 minutes, Scale $149 for 1,000 minutes and Growth $299 for 2,000 minutes, with two months free on annual billing and a 7 day trial. English and Spanish are on every call. The catch: Professional only texts booking links and has no transfers; direct booking and transfers start on Scale. Best for trades that need every job call answered.
Dialzara. Business Lite is $29 a month for 60 minutes, Pro $99 for 220, Plus $199 for 500 and Elite $349 for 1,000, with overage of $0.48, $0.45, $0.40 and $0.35 a minute. It has a 7 day trial, no setup fee, a free SMS agent with any voice plan and English and Spanish. Best for voice plus text from one vendor.
Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk). The self serve Business in a Box plan is $99 a month, or $79 a month billed annually, and includes 200 voice minutes, 100 chat conversations and 400 text messages. Extra voice time costs 25 credits a minute, which works out at $0.25 a minute on its $10 per 1,000 credit reloads. It lists 20+ languages and a 7 day trial. Best for solo owners who want phone, chat and text together; 200 minutes goes quickly.
Billed per unique caller: Goodcall
Goodcall. Goodcall charges by unique customers a month, with unlimited minutes. Starter is $79 for 100 unique customers, Growth $129 for 250 and Scale $249 for 500, each with $0.50 per extra customer and about 15% off annually. Call history is kept 7 days on Starter and 30 on Growth, and custom API integrations are Enterprise only. Best for salons and gyms where the same people call often.
Billed per location: Slang.ai for restaurants
Slang.ai. Slang.ai is built for restaurants. Core starts at $399 per location a month and Premium at $599, with Enterprise on quote. It integrates with OpenTable, SevenRooms, Yelp and Fishbowl, and bilingual Spanish support sits in Premium. Best for restaurants whose phone is mostly reservations.
The human benchmark: Ruby
Ruby. Ruby is a live human receptionist service, included as the benchmark owners compare against. Plans are $250 a month for 50 minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500. Spanish and bilingual handling is available. Best for low volume, high value calls.
Best AI answering service comparison table
“Not stated” means the pricing page did not say, not that the feature is missing; ask before you buy.
| Product | Entry price | Billing unit | Books into calendar | Handover to a person | Languages stated | HIPAA BAA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | Free for 25 calls; Pro $150 | Per call | Not stated on pricing page | Live North America receptionists | Bilingual answering | Not stated |
| Upfirst | $24.95 for 30 calls | Per call | Yes, six calendars | Transfer | 35+ | Custom plan only |
| Quo with Sona | $19 per user plus credits | Per call (credits) | Not stated | Within the Quo phone system | Not stated | Not stated |
| Rosie | $49 for 250 minutes | Per minute | From the $149 plan | Warm and live from $149 | English, Spanish | Not stated |
| Dialzara | $29 for 60 minutes | Per minute | Calendar and CRM sync | Not stated | English, Spanish | Not stated |
| Frontdesk | $99 for 200 minutes | Per minute (credits) | Not stated | Not stated | 20+ | Not stated |
| Goodcall | $79 for 100 callers | Per unique caller | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Slang.ai | $399 per location | Per location | Reservation systems | Not stated | Spanish on Premium | Not stated |
| Ruby (human) | $250 for 50 minutes | Per human minute | By staff | A person answers every call | English, Spanish | Not stated |
Checked on each vendor’s pricing page in October 2026. Annual discounts are not shown. Prices change often, so confirm on the vendor page before you buy.
What does a virtual AI receptionist really cost per call?
At 300 calls a month, the cheapest subscriptions here cost about $0.43 to $0.53 per handled call, the multichannel plans $0.90 to $1.20, and a human service more than $5.75. Headline prices hide this, so we ran two typical call patterns through every published price list.
Scenario A: a busy single location, 300 calls a month
300 calls of about three minutes (900 minutes) from about 250 callers, with direct booking.
| Product and plan | How the bill is made | Monthly cost | Cost per call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goodcall Growth | $129 covers 250 unique callers | $129 | $0.43 |
| Quo Starter with credit tier 4 | $19 seat, $99 for 250 calls, 50 calls at $0.55 | $146 | $0.49 |
| Rosie Scale | $149 covers 1,000 minutes | $149 | $0.50 |
| Upfirst Pro | $159.95 covers 300 calls | $160 | $0.53 |
| Frontdesk | $99 for 200 minutes, 700 minutes at $0.25 | $274 | $0.91 |
| Dialzara Elite | $349 covers 1,000 minutes | $349 | $1.16 |
| Smith.ai Pro, 300 call tier | 300 calls at about $1.67 | About $500 | $1.67 |
| Ruby | 900 human minutes is above the 500 minute plan | More than $1,725 | More than $5.75 |
Scenario B: a quiet practice, 80 calls a month
80 calls of about two minutes (160 minutes) from about 70 callers.
| Product and plan | How the bill is made | Monthly cost |
|---|---|---|
| Rosie Professional | $49 covers 250 minutes, but booking is by text link only | $49 |
| Upfirst Premium | $59.95 covers 90 calls | $60 |
| Quo Starter with credit tier 3 | $19 seat plus $49 for 100 calls | $68 |
| Dialzara Business Lite | $29 for 60 minutes plus 100 minutes at $0.48 | $77 |
| Goodcall Starter | $79 covers 100 unique callers | $79 |
| Frontdesk | $99 covers 200 minutes | $99 |
| Smith.ai Pro | $150 for 75 calls plus 5 calls at $2.50 | About $163 |
| Ruby | $720 plan covers 200 minutes | $720 |
Our arithmetic from list prices published in October 2026. Real bills vary with call length, repeat callers, taxes, add ons and annual discounts.
What is inside the price of one AI minute?
Subscriptions bundle phone line, speech recognition, model and voice into one price; developer platforms bill each part. Retell AI’s pricing page shows it: $0.055 a minute for voice infrastructure, $0.015 for a standard voice, $0.015 for telephony, and from $0.0016 a minute for the smallest model. That is under 9 cents a minute before setup and support. Our typical estimate for custom builds is 8 to 25 US cents a minute all in, depending on voice, model and telephony.
Key takeaway: at small business volumes a subscription is almost always cheaper per call. Pay more only for something you can name, such as human backup or a language your callers speak.
Setup fees and hidden charges are covered in our AI receptionist cost guide.
Not sure which plan fits your calls? Send us one month of call log export (numbers can be masked) and we will tell you, free, which billing unit and plan is cheapest for your pattern.

How good is the handover to a human?
Handover quality decides whether an AI receptionist wins or loses the calls that matter, and most reviews skip it. A cold transfer drops the caller on you with no context; a warm transfer briefs you first.
What the vendors publish, as of October 2026:
- Rosie offers warm transfers with a briefing from its $149 plan and chains of backup numbers on its $299 plan; the $49 plan has no transfers.
- Smith.ai can pass calls to live receptionists, the strongest safety net here.
- Quo transfers inside its own phone system, so colleagues see the conversation in one app.
- Upfirst sends an instant summary and recording on every plan.
Write three handover rules first: which calls always go to a person, who takes them in and out of hours, and what the AI says if nobody answers. Then test each one.
Languages, HIPAA and GDPR: what the pricing pages promise
Only Upfirst states a HIPAA BAA on its pricing page, on its Custom plan, and none of the pricing pages we checked says where recordings are stored or offers UK or EU hosting. Ask in writing.
Languages
English and Spanish are well covered by Rosie, Dialzara, Ruby and Slang.ai Premium. Upfirst lists 35+ languages and Frontdesk 20+. Listed is not the same as good: test Scottish, Irish or Gulf English accents, and any Arabic, with your own callers.
Health and personal data
- HIPAA (US). If callers share health information with a covered practice, the vendor handles protected health information and you need a signed BAA. Without one, keep it to scheduling. Our AI for healthcare page covers clinic needs in more depth.
- UK GDPR. Recording calls is processing personal data: you need a lawful basis, a privacy notice, a data processing agreement and a set retention period.
- EU AI Act. Article 50 has applied since 2 August 2026, and requires that people are informed when they are interacting with an AI system unless it is obvious. If you take calls from EU customers, say so in the greeting.
- UAE PDPL. Federal Decree Law No. 45 of 2021 applies outside the DIFC and ADGM, which have their own rules.
A good habit everywhere: greet callers with “you’re speaking with our virtual assistant”. It is honest and sets expectations.
How to test an AI receptionist before you pay
Test an AI receptionist with ten real call types from a noisy phone, then score the summaries, not the voice. A 7 or 14 day trial is enough to do this in an afternoon.
- Load your real answers. Prices, hours, area and booking rules, as your best staff member explains them.
- Pick ten calls. Your five most common call reasons plus five awkward ones: an angry caller, a change of mind, a hard to spell name, a question it should refuse.
- Call from real conditions. A street, a van, a speakerphone. Interrupt it mid sentence.
- Time the gaps. Measure the silence between the end of your sentence and its first word. People in conversation usually reply within about 200 milliseconds (Stivers et al., PNAS, 2009). Our rule of thumb: regular gaps longer than about one and a half seconds on a phone line make callers talk over the agent.
- Ask for a person. Check what you hear first when the transfer lands, and what the caller hears if you do not pick up.
- Book something. Check the slot and details in your calendar.
- Score the summaries. For each call, mark name, number, reason and next step as right or wrong. One wrong phone number in ten calls is a warning; two is a no.
Then switch it on for missed calls only, read every summary for two weeks, and widen it if it holds up.

Which AI receptionist for small business fits your type of business?
Match the product to how your callers behave, not to the vendor’s industry list. This is our starting shortlist by business type.
| Business type | Typical call pattern | Start your trial with | What to check |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plumber, electrician, HVAC | Many short job calls, urgent after hours | Rosie Scale, Upfirst | Emergency transfer rules and job management link |
| Law firm | Fewer, longer intake calls | Smith.ai, Upfirst | Clio connection and conflict check handling |
| Salon, gym, studio | The same clients calling often | Goodcall, Rosie | Your booking software is supported |
| Clinic or dental practice | Bookings plus health details | Upfirst Custom, or a custom build | A signed BAA and practice system booking |
| Restaurant | Reservations and opening hours | Slang.ai | Your reservation platform and cost per location |
| Real estate agency | Lead calls about listings | Dialzara, Frontdesk | Text follow up and CRM sync |
| Team moving off mobiles | Mixed calls, several staff | Quo with Sona | Credit tier needed for your volume |
See deeper setups on our AI for home services, AI for law firms and real estate AI pages.
AI receptionist for small business in the US, UK and UAE
Almost every product here is built for US businesses first, so UK and UAE owners should check numbers, accents and data handling.
United States
You have the widest choice. Two rules matter: states such as California require consent from everyone on a call before recording, so add a notice to your greeting; and since February 2024 the FCC treats AI generated voices as “artificial” under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, so outbound AI calls need robocall level consent (FCC, 2024).
United Kingdom
Check the vendor supports UK numbers or forwarding, test regional accents, and ask where recordings are stored under UK GDPR. Our guide to choosing an AI development company in the UK covers local buying questions.
United Arab Emirates
Callers in Dubai and Abu Dhabi often switch between Arabic and English mid sentence, and none of these subscriptions advertises tested Gulf Arabic. An English only line can use a US product through forwarding; bilingual callers or in country data usually need a custom agent. See our guide to AI development in Dubai and the UAE or our UAE page.
When is an AI receptionist the wrong buy?
An AI receptionist is the wrong buy when you get very few calls, when most calls are emotional, or when the person who answers is the product. In those cases spend the money elsewhere.
- Under about 20 calls a month: voicemail to text is enough.
- Calls that need empathy first: funeral services and complaint heavy lines need people.
- Every call is a negotiation: the AI can take details for a complex quote, but it will not close.
- Nobody will maintain it: an AI receptionist quoting last year’s prices does more harm than a missed call.
Vrisic: when a custom AI receptionist makes sense
This section is about us. A custom AI receptionist only makes sense when the value of a call depends on work inside your own systems. If the agent only answers questions and books into Google Calendar, buy a subscription above.
A custom build tends to win when:
- Booking needs your rules: job length depends on service, technician and postcode.
- Your software has no connector: older systems often need AI integration work first.
- Several locations: routing to the right branch and diary breaks simple flows.
- Arabic and English: bilingual Gulf callers need dialect testing.
- Data residency: recordings must stay in your cloud or country.
- One assistant, many channels: phone, email and chat together need an AI agent built for your business.
A single line custom receptionist typically costs $10,000 to $30,000 (£8,000 to £24,000, AED 37,000 to AED 110,000) and takes 3 to 6 weeks. An integrated voice agent that reads and writes several systems is $30,000 to $75,000 (£24,000 to £60,000, AED 110,000 to AED 275,000) over 6 to 12 weeks. Usage is billed at cost, our typical estimate is 8 to 25 US cents a minute, and optional managed support starts at $1,500 a month. These are typical ranges; you get one fixed price in writing after a free scoping call. If you are weighing it up, our article on building vs buying AI software walks through the decision.
Prove it on your own calls first Our 10 business day AI Pilot builds a working receptionist on one call type, connected to your booking system, so you hear it before you commit to a build.
How Vrisic can help
If a subscription covers your calls, we will tell you which one and step aside. Where it does not, we build custom AI receptionists that book into your own systems, follow your rules and hand over to your team with a clear summary. We are a remote team based in India, working in US, UK and UAE business hours; you own the code and it runs in your cloud account. You can see how projects run on our how we work page.
The low risk way to start is the AI Pilot: $1,500 (£1,200, AED 5,500), 10 business days, fully credited against a build if you go ahead within 60 days. Send us your top ten call reasons, or message us on WhatsApp at +91 63777 67206.
Sources
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing, checked October 2026
- Upfirst pricing, checked October 2026
- Quo pricing, checked October 2026
- Rosie pricing, checked October 2026
- Dialzara pricing, checked October 2026
- Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) pricing, checked October 2026
- Goodcall pricing, checked October 2026
- Slang.ai pricing, checked October 2026
- Ruby plans and pricing, checked October 2026
- Synthflow pricing, checked October 2026
- Retell AI pricing, checked October 2026
- Stivers et al., Universals and cultural variation in turn taking in conversation, PNAS, 2009
- FCC, AI generated voices in robocalls ruling, February 2024
- Morgan Lewis, EU AI Act transparency rules from 2 August 2026, August 2026
